theAIHL.com - The Australian Ice Hockey League
22 APRIL
NORTH STARS  
ADRENALINE  
4:30PM Local Time
22 APRIL
ICE DOGS  
BEARS  
5:00PM Local Time
22 APRIL
BRAVE  
MUSTANGS  
5:00PM Local Time
23 APRIL
BRAVE  
MUSTANGS  
4:00PM Local Time
23 APRIL
NORTH STARS  
THUNDER  
4:30PM Local Time
29 APRIL
BEARS  
NORTH STARS  
5:00PM Local Time
29 APRIL
ADRENALINE  
ICE  
5:00PM Local Time
29 APRIL
THUNDER  
ICE DOGS  
5:00PM Local Time
30 APRIL
ADRENALINE  
ICE  
4:00PM Local Time
30 APRIL
THUNDER  
BEARS  
5:00PM Local Time
30 APRIL
BRAVE  
NORTH STARS  
5:00PM Local Time
6 MAY
ICE DOGS  
ADRENALINE  
4:30PM Local Time
HOME SCORES & SCHEDULE STATS NEWS MEDIA JOIN TEAM EVENTS ABOUT TICKETS SHOP
Select seasons >>>
GET NEWS FROM: TO:
  NEXT>
AIHL Talent Dominates IIHF World Championship Line Up
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - Submitted by Bernard McNamara

The Australian Mighty Roos team competing at the 2017 International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) World Championships will comprise entirely of local players from the Australian Ice Hockey League (AIHL), Australia’s national ice hockey competition. Former Melbourne Mustangs Head Coach Brad Vigon, who led the Melbourne club to their first Goodall Cup Championship in 2014, will coach the young and upcoming Mighty Roos: a team which welcomes eight debutants in 2017.

The depth of AIHL talent will be on full display when the Mighty Roos go for gold in the Division II, Group A of the World Championships, hosted in Romania from April 3-9.

Australia’s National team will feature 2016 Goodall Cup-winning Captain Robert Malloy (Newcastle North Stars), 2016 AIHL MVP Wehebe Darge (Adelaide Adrenaline), as well as former imports - Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline) and John Kennedy (Newcastle North Stars) who were recently naturalised as Australian citizens.

After winning gold convincingly at the 2016 World Championships in Mexico City in the Division II Group B, the Aussies earnt a promotion to Division II Group A and will face much tougher opposition this time around in Romania.

The Mighty Roos will face off against Serbia (ranked 31st in the world), Iceland (35th), Romania (29th), Belgium (32nd) and Spain (30th), who were demoted from the Division 1 in 2016. See IIHF World Rankings here.

The Mighty Roos come into the Championships as under dogs, currently ranked 36th in the world. If the Aussies can capture back-to-back gold medals, it would propel the Mighty Roo’s back into Division 1, their highest international ranking since 2012.

The Mighty Roos campaign gets under way on April 3, when they face off against second seed Serbia at the Galati Ice Rink in Romania. Full Schedule below:

  • Monday April 3, 8pm AEST/7.30pm ACST/6pm AWST – Vs Serbia (31st)
  • Tuesday April 4, 8pm AEST/7.30pm ACST/6pm AWST – Vs Iceland (35th)
  • Thursday April 6, 11.30pm AEST/11pm ACST/9.30pm AWST – Vs Spain (30th)
  • Friday April 7, 3am AEST/2.30am ACST/1am AWST – Vs Romania (29th)
  • Sunday April 9, 8pm AEST/7.30pm ACST/6pm AWST – Vs Belgium (32nd)

Get the complete IIHF World Championships schedule here.

OUR 2017 MIGHT ROOS LINE UP

Forwards

  • Billy Cliff (Sydney Bears)
  • Pat Nadin (Newcastle Northstars)
  • Wehebe Darge (Adelaide Adrenaline)
  • Mitch Humphries (Melbourne Ice)
  • Kai Miettinen (CBR Brave) - debut
  • Tommy Powell (Melbourne Ice)
  • Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline) - debut
  • Beau Taylor (Newcastle North Stars) - debut
  • Richard Tesarik (Sydney Bears)
  • Cameron Todd (Sydney Bears)
  • Kieren Webster (Perth Thunder) - debut
  • Chris Wong (Melbourne Ice) - debut

Defencemen

  • Paul Baranzelli (Melbourne Ice)
  • Jack Carpenter (Melbourne Ice) - debut
  • David Huxley (Adelaide Adrenaline)
  • John Kennedy (Newcastle North Stars) - debut
  • Mathew Lindsay (Newcastle North Stars)
  • Robert Malloy (Newcastle North Stars)
  • Lliam Webster (Melbourne Ice)
  • Jamie Woodman (Perth Thunder) – debut

Goalkeepers

  • Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
  • Charlie Smart (Newcastle North Stars)

Head Coach: Brad Vigon

Assistant Coach: Matti Luoma

Chef de Mission: Steve Ransome

Medical Officer: Dr Daniel George

Equipment Manager: Petr Cirkl

Team Manager: Ian Webster

 

MORE INTERNATIONAL HOCKEY IN AUSTRALIA

For local hockey fans, international ice hockey is set to return to Melbourne in March, when the Melbourne Ice play host to the New Zealand Black Caps on 25 and 30 March at the O’Brien Group Arena.

The friendly Trans-Tasman series is a warm up for both teams, with the New Zealand Black Caps preparing for their 2017 IIHF World Championship campaign (Division II Group B), which is being held in Auckland this year.

 
AIHL VIDEOS
June 23, 2016
AIHL 2016 - WEEK 9: ME
2:16
June 16, 2016
AIHL 2016 - WEEK 8: AI
6:41
June 9, 2016
AIHL 2016 - WEEK 7: ME
3:11
STANDINGS
TEAM GP W L D OW OL TP
Adrenaline 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Brave 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Ice 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Mustangs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
North Stars 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Thunder 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Bears 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Ice Dogs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
SCORING LEADERS GOALIE LEADERS
PLAYER GP G A PTS
S Adams (SB) 0 0 0 0
S Air (SB) 0 0 0 0
S Allen (SID) 0 0 0 0
R Annesley (SB) 0 0 0 0
M Armstrong (MI) 0 0 0 0
S Austin (SB) 0 0 0 0
B Azzopardi (SID) 0 0 0 0
J Baclig (MI) 0 0 0 0
SCORING LEADERS GOALIE LEADERS
GOALIE GP W GAA SV%
THE PRODUCTION LINE
Thomas Heemskerk
THOMAS HEEMSKERK
10 wins, 2.65 GAA and 0.930 SV% through 14 AIHL games.
Player Profile »
Michael Dorr
MICHAEL DORR
7 goals and 13 assists in 14 AIHL games played.
Player Profile »
Ben Breault
BEN BREAULT
13 goals and 10 assists in first 14 AIHL games.
Player Profile »
EMERGING STARS
Julian Fodor
JULIAN FODOR
15 year old Queensland forward. 20 goals, 8 assists in 15 senior games.
Matthew de Beer
MATTHEW DE BEER
18 year old forward for Brisbane Blitz. 2 goals, 2 assists in 5 AJIHL games.
Byron Tschuma
BYRON TSCHUMA
17 year old forward for Melbourne Whalers. 10 goals, 3 assists in 10 AJIHL games.
JOIN THE CONVERSATION
HEADLINES
Keeping Constant - the North Stars pl..
Formula One Driver Valtteri Bottas on..
Aussie U18s win Gold at Ice Hockey Wo..
Sydney Sirens Win AWIHL Final in Epic..
Sydney prepares for Women's Ice Hocke..
AIHL Talent Dominates IIHF World Cham..
FREE Taping Workshop in Sydney
AIHL poised for growth in Sydney with..
AIHL's biggest stories of 2016
Adelaide's Playford Arena gets green..
BOREALIS FAN POLL
Should the AIHL adopt 3-on-3 overtime in 2017?
  Yes
  No
VIEW RESULTS
COMMUNITY PARTNERS
MEET THE PLAYERS